GBS Insurance can assist in providing Motorcycle Insurance with Additional coverage areas including:
CONTACT US NOW
I’m ready to ride!
But I still have a few questions…
What are the laws regarding health insurance in regards to helmet laws?
On June 19, 2009, Governor Rick Perry signed into law Senate Bill 1967. The law became effective September 1, 2009 and repealed the helmet exemption sticker program. The following information pertains to the helmet exemption:
- Former law required a person be covered with a minimum of $10,000 in health insurance for injuries incurred in a motorcycle accident to be eligible for an exemption for the offense of operating or riding a motorcycle without a helmet. This law removes that minimum amount. The law now requires the Texas Department of Insurance to prescribe a standard proof of health insurance for issuance to persons who are at least 21 years of age and covered by an applicable health insurance plan. “Health insurance plan” means an individual, group, blanket or franchise insurance policy, insurance agreement, evidence of coverage, group hospital services contract, health maintenance organization membership, or employee benefit plan that provides health care services or for medical or surgical expenses incurred as a result of an accident. Your health insurance plan provider must with add the words “MOTORCYCLE HEALTH” to the insurance card or supply a letter with the same basic information as the card to include the words “MOTORCYCLE HEALTH: Standard Proof of Health Insurance.”
- The law prohibits a peace officer from stopping or detaining a person who is the operator of or a passenger on a motorcycle for the sole purpose of determining whether the person has successfully completed a motorcycle operator training and safety course or is covered by a motorcycle health insurance plan and repeals provisions relating to a DPS-issued sticker required to be displayed on a motorcycle by the motorcycle owner.
Above information provided by Texas Department of Public Safety